The safety and welfare of all pupils at Dover College is our highest priority.

We pride ourselves on knowing each pupil as an individual and to provide a safe environment, so that all pupils can learn in safety.

Each member of staff, contractor or volunteer who comes into contact with the pupils of Dover College has a role to play in safeguarding including a responsibility to act and report any concerns, to share information and put our pupils first. Our Safeguarding Policy is available below.

Safeguarding and Child Protection at Dover College

  • All members of staff receive annual Safeguarding and Child Protection training by the Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL), Mrs Tracey Mills (Prep School Deputy Head Pastoral).
  • All new members of staff receive Safeguarding training as part of our new staff induction process.
  • Governors receive annual training in Safeguarding and Child Protection.
  • All members of staff are required to read and confirm they have understood Part One of KCSIE (September 2019) and Annex A in order to fully discharge their role and responsibilities in terms of safeguarding children.
  • Dover College keeps an up to date safeguarding training register to ensure all members of staff are up to date.

Pupil Safety at Dover College

  • All members of staff and visitors are required to wear photographic identification whilst on the College site.
  • Visitors to the College are required to sign in electronically at Priory Lodge (the main College Reception) and receive a visitors’ pass.
  • The College operates 24 hour CCTV with all doors secured. Entrance to the College is via the main automated gates, and monitored during working hours. A security code is used to access the gates outside working hours.

Useful Contact Details for Safeguarding Concerns

Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL): Tracey Mills, Prep School Deputy Head Pastoral

Tel: 01304 244516 Mobile: 07743 807491 Email:


Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead: Lee Irwin, Housemaster

Tel: 01304 244539 Mobile: 07802 621403 Email:


Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead: Michelle Rolfe, Deputy Housemistress

Tel: 01304 244540 Mobile: 07894 587768 Email:



Designated Safeguarding Team: Julie Green, Member of Academic Staff



Designated Safeguarding Team: Charlotte Butt, Member of Academic Staff and Housemistress



Safeguarding Governor: Paul Tapsell